3D I, Week 7, Part 2: Assignment 3 Progress

Today in class we started work on modeling our Assignment 3 characters. This is a quick blog post on the progress I made during the lesson.

TurnaroundDuring class today, I modeled out most of my character’s body, with a torso, arms and legs. Right now the model itself only consists of the left half of his body, which is mirrored on the right side to create a full body.

ModelI’ve split up the upper and lower body of the model into two pieces. This is because the character, William, wears a tunic that covers the base of his legs. When I get to modeling out the tunic, I will make it an extension of the upper body, which goes down over the lower body part of the model. I’ve still modeled out pretty much the full area from his waist to his legs, since the length of the tunic is quite short. However, this part of the character’s body probably won’t be visible very often, so I haven’t added any additional loops to flesh out the silhouette since those details would be unnecessary.

OverlayWe will start on modeling the heads and faces of our characters in class next week. I spoke to Nataska regarding my character’s design today, particularly the hair. She told me it would be best to avoid alpha maps, since they’re hard to pull off and make for a more realistic look. Instead, she said I should clump together the hair into bigger, but still distinct pieces that keep the messy look of the character’s hair, and model it out properly on my character.

Leave a comment